Free, confidential whistleblowing advice
Get In Touch




Our Board of Trustees


Paul Boyle OBE, Chair

Paul Boyle is our Chair. He retired from Aviva plc in 2017, having been the Chief Internal Auditor for 7 years and a member of the Group Executive Committee. Prior to that he was the first Chief Executive of the Financial Reporting Council, the regulator for corporate governance and reporting, and was Chief Operating Office of the Financial Services Authority. He also worked in senior finance roles for. Cadbury Schweppes plc and WH Smith plc. Paul is a NED of the UK Government Internal Audit Agency. He was President of the Chartered Institute of Internal Auditors (UK & Ireland) in 2016/17.


Alexander Gardiner, Trustee

Alexander Gardiner is CEO at Rare Television. Before that he was a commissioning editor of current affairs at Channel 4, overseeing many of their debate programmes and investigations. Prior to that Alexander ran Shiver, the part of ITV Studios responsible for much of its factual television output. As Managing Director of an outfit with offices in Manchester, Leeds and London he oversaw the production of a diverse range of output and hundreds of hours of television.


Karen Jordan, Trustee

Karen Jordan is a Board-level advisor with significant regulatory expertise and department and budgetary management experience both in the UK and internationally. Karen brings strategic and hands-on experience of managing and improving regulatory relationships and culture, changing business models for banks and asset managers in response to regulatory change, solving issues and improving governance. She is a whistleblower protection champion with extensive investigations, enforcement and remediation experience and a consulting/audit background.


David Widdowson, Trustee

David Widdowson is an experienced employment lawyer who has built highly regarded teams in two large commercial law firms in the City of London in both of which he has played key leadership roles. He has advised employees and employers across a broad spectrum of industry and in the public sector. David is a longstanding member of the Employment Lawyers Association and regularly engages with government on legislative changes. In addition David is an accredited mediator and business coach.


Simon Gaysford, Trustee

Simon Gaysford is a Director and Co-Founder at Frontier Economics. His work is used by clients in devising commercial strategies, dealing with competition or regulatory authorities and interactions with government. His work focuses mainly on consumer goods markets, particularly in retail and financial services, and his recent clients include Tesco, Lloyds Banking Group, Channel 4 and HMRC. Simon has also worked across a wide range of other sectors including media, pharmaceuticals and telecoms.


Frances Morris-Jones, Trustee

Frances Morris-Jones is an experienced Board director and business leader with extensive knowledge of the international energy sector, including as former Chair and current Senior Independent Director of the Oil and Gas Authority. She has worked in companies of all sizes and across the private, public and not-for-profit sectors. She holds other non-executive roles as Governor and Committee Chair for the University of Portsmouth, Trustee of Anti-Slavery International and member of the Standards Strategy and Policy Committee for BSI Group. She brings considerable expertise in governance, risk management and financial oversight.

Our Patrons

Michael Woodford OBE, the former President and CEO of the Olympus Corporation, who was forced to blow the whistle on his own company, and in doing so exposed a $1.7 billion fraud. He was awarded ‘Business Person of the Year’ in The Independent, The Sunday Times, The Sun and was the Financial Times ‘Boldness in Business’ winner’ in 2012. In March 2013 he was awarded the inaugural Contrarian Prize. He now spends much of his time promoting governance and fairness in the workplace.

The Council

The Council has an advisory role to the charity. Michael Brindle QC is Chairman. Current members include Michael Smyth CBE, Michael Woodford MBE, The Right Hon Sir Anthony Hooper, Roger Bolton, Dr Yvonne Cripps, Edwin Glasgow QC, David Owen, Dr Elaine Sternberg, Dr Marie Stewart, Stephen Whittle OBE, Guy Dehn, Maurice Frankel OBE, Marlene Winfield OBE, Michael Rubenstein and Sarah Veale CBE.